Dirt Bronco SA MX National Round 4

The fourth round of the Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA MX National Championship took place at Dirt Bronco in Randfontein this past weekend. When over 200 bikes were queued at the entrance at 6am on race morning, everyone knew we were in for a big day. So despite the early cold, spirits were high and there was huge anticipation for the racing ahead, this was equally matched by approximately 1500 spectators that attended. The weather played along nicely and a warm, sunny clear day made for perfect racing.

In the MX1 premier class, it was veteran and past SA Champion Richard van der Westhuizen from Husqvarna Racing that took the overall win. Despite only a 4th in Heat 1, he knocked it out of the park in heat 2 with a first place that reminded us why he is a multiple champion and that gave him the top spot. Grainger Racing’s Damon Strydom put in an excellent performance taking the win in Heat 1 but losing ground in Heat 2. He walked away with second for the day. Tintswalo Out of Africa Yamaha’s Tristan Purdon retained his points lead with his consistent performance with a 3-2 and taking third overall for the day.

Dirt Bronco

The biggest upset came in the Premier MX2 class. After 6 wins, Husqvarna Racing’s Matthew ‘Maddy’ Malan’s day started out in a bad way when he went down in the first corner with eight other riders in the heat 1 start. Maddy fought hard to 4th place before a small mistake saw him fall back again. In addition, the entire crowd was blown away by the amazing performance that Cape Townrider GAC Laser Ace Sports Racing’s Anthony Raynard put in when he took the win in Heat 1. Heat 2 again didn’t go to plan for Maddy and despite every effort he crashed hard and ended his hope for points for that race. It was incredible to see how hard he fought to work his way to the front but once again the sport shows how unforgiving it can be. Anthony put in another excellent performance but it was Tintswalo Out of Africa Yamaha’s David Goosen that edged him for the win in Heat 2. Anthony took the overall, with David in second and Red Bull KTM’s Kerim Fitz-Gerald took third overall. A solid performance for him, but not what he would have wanted on a home track.

Round 5 heads to KZN and will take place at Pietermaritzburg on 22 July.

Other results from the day:

1. Neil van der Vyver
2. Jordan van Wyk
3. Liam Botha

1. Daiyaan Manuel
2. Tyler Tarantino
3. Emmanuel Bako

85cc Juniors
1. Blake Young
2. Nate Mc Lellan
3. Dylan Kirk

Pro Mini
1. Camden Mc Lellan
2. Dalton Venter
3. Jonathan Mlimi

High School
1. Slade Smith
2. Ricky Raaff
3. Cameron Durow

1. Nanda Clowes
2. Natasha Rugani
3. Kayla Raaff

1. Ian Topliss
2. Brett Bircher
3. Kevin Moran

The championship is proudly sponsored by:
Monster Energy and TRP Distributors.
Thor, Bridgestone, FMF and Gaerne.
Motul, EVS Sports and Just 1 Helmets.
Fly Racing, 100%, DC Shoes, Racestar Graffix, Sunoco Race Shop and Pac-Rite .

Pictures:  Grant McLachlan